The Japan Filter

Japan's best-reviewed products, re-verified for buyers outside Japan.

Knives

Global SAI Knives Review: What Separates SAI from the G-Series?

Published August 13, 2026

Global's SAI series sits above the G-Series in the brand's lineup: harder steel, a higher price, and a handle motif tied to the brand's unusual manufacturing origin. The core distinction is the steel -- Cromova 18 SANSO in a 3-ply construction reaching HRC 58-59, compared to standard Cromova 18 at HRC 56-58 in the G-Series and UKON. Designer Komin Yamada, who created the G-Series design in 1985, has continued his involvement through the SAI, giving the two lines a visual continuity that spans over 25 years. This guide covers what the SAI actually offers versus the G-Series, who it is built for, and where the pricing sits in the US market.

BEST SAI STARTING POINT

Global SAI-01 7.5-Inch Chef's Knife

$$$ Reference retail price approximately $199.95 (August 2026); verify current price on Amazon before purchasing

1 chef's knife, per manufacturer specifications

Specifications

Steel
Cromova 18 SANSO (3-ply construction), per manufacturer specifications
Hardness
HRC 58-59, per manufacturer specifications
Blade Length
7.5 inches (191mm), per manufacturer specifications
Edge Angle
15 degrees, per manufacturer specifications
Construction
One-piece all-stainless, hollow handle with sand fill for balance
Made In
Tsubame City, Niigata Prefecture, Japan
Designer
Komin Yamada (also designed the original G-Series in 1985)

Origin & Seller

  • ✓ Japan Brand
  • ✓ Made in Japan
  • ✓ Official US Seller: Global Cutlery brand store on Amazon.com (operated by SCANPAN USA Inc.)

Why We Picked It

  • → The SAI-01 is the clearest entry into the SAI line -- the most widely available SAI model and closest in function to the G-2

For US Buyers

  • · SAI-01 is 7.5 inches (vs G-2's 8 inches) -- confirm that the shorter blade works for your cutting tasks
  • · HRC 58-59 requires more care when resharpening than HRC 56-58 -- use a fine-grit stone (3000+) rather than a coarse one
  • · Purchase from the Global Cutlery brand store on Amazon.com to maintain US warranty coverage
Listing verified · August 2026
SANTOKU OPTION IN SAI LINE

Global SAI-03 7-Inch Santoku

$$$ Reference retail price approximately $229.95 (August 2026); verify current price on Amazon before purchasing

1 santoku knife, per manufacturer specifications

Specifications

Steel
Cromova 18 SANSO (3-ply construction), per manufacturer specifications
Hardness
HRC 58-59, per manufacturer specifications
Blade Length
7 inches (180mm) with hollow-ground edge, per manufacturer specifications
Made In
Tsubame City, Niigata Prefecture, Japan

Origin & Seller

  • ✓ Japan Brand
  • ✓ Made in Japan
  • ✓ Official US Seller: Global Cutlery brand store on Amazon.com

Why We Picked It

  • → For buyers who prefer santoku geometry over chef's knife geometry, the SAI-03 applies the same SANSO steel upgrade in that form factor

For US Buyers

  • · Santoku blade geometry -- a flatter edge profile -- suits chopping and slicing tasks; less versatile for rocking cuts than the SAI-01 chef's knife
  • · At the reference price, approximately $30 more than the SAI-01 -- the form factor difference is the main consideration rather than a performance gap
Listing verified · August 2026

SAI vs. G-Series: One Real Difference

The SAI and G-Series share the same manufacturing base (Yoshikin, Tsubame City), the same one-piece all-stainless construction, and the same hollow sand-weighted handle design. What differs is the steel.

G-Series and UKON use Cromova 18 at HRC 56-58. SAI uses Cromova 18 SANSO — a 3-ply construction with a different inner core alloy — reaching HRC 58-59. Two points of Rockwell hardness sounds narrow, but in edge-retention terms it is a real difference: the SAI holds an edge through more cutting cycles before it needs resharpening.

The tradeoff is resharpening behavior. At HRC 58-59, the edge is more sensitive to careless technique — a coarse stone or wrong angle chips or rolls the edge more easily than at HRC 56-58. That is the specific tradeoff buyers need to evaluate.

The Length Difference Matters

The SAI-01 — the flagship chef’s knife in the SAI line — is 7.5 inches. The G-2 is 8 inches. Neither is better in absolute terms, but the difference is real in practice. For smaller cutting boards or work on medium produce, 7.5 inches is often easier to maneuver. For larger proteins, bread, or full-length cuts, 8 inches provides more useful blade surface.

The SAI line does not offer an 8-inch chef’s knife equivalent. Buyers who prefer the 8-inch format and want the SAI steel upgrade would need to look at the SAI-02 (5.5-inch prep) or SAI-03 (7-inch santoku) for different functions rather than a longer chef’s knife.

The Design Narrative: What It Is and Isn’t

The SAI handle’s seven black-dot inlays are described by the manufacturer as referencing the seven virtues of Bushido. Komin Yamada, who designed the G-Series in 1985, continued his involvement as designer on the SAI — a design tenure of over 25 years on the same brand, which is an accurate and unusual fact.

The Bushido narrative is worth understanding clearly: Yoshikin was founded in 1954 in Tsubame City as a hollow-handle tableware manufacturer for Western export markets, not as a cutlery maker in the sword-forging tradition associated with Seki City or Sakai. The seven-dot motif is Yamada’s design choice applied to a product from a tableware-origin manufacturer. It is a visual design statement, not a heritage claim about the factory.

That context does not diminish the knife’s quality — the SANSO steel specification and manufacturing are well-established. It does help buyers evaluate the narrative accurately against what the brand actually is.

Which Model to Start With

The SAI-01 (7.5-inch chef’s knife) is the clearest starting point in the SAI line — the most widely available model and the closest functional equivalent to the G-2. The SAI-03 (7-inch santoku) serves the same steel upgrade for buyers who prefer santoku geometry.

Both are available through the Global Cutlery brand store on Amazon.com, operated by SCANPAN USA Inc. Purchasing from the brand store maintains US warranty coverage — third-party sellers require SCANPAN’s prior written consent to be authorized. See our guide on where to buy Global Knives in the US for the seller verification process.

For a mid-tier option with the same Cromova 18 steel as the G-2 but a redesigned ergonomic handle rather than a harder edge, see our guide to the Williams-Sonoma-exclusive UKON line.

For a comparison between the SAI and the G-2 at a higher level, see our complete Global Knives guide covering all three active lines.

JP Japan Context

How It's Viewed in Japan

In Japan

The Cromova 18 SANSO 3-ply construction used in the SAI is a steel specification developed by Yoshikin specifically for the SAI line -- a premium tier differentiated from the standard Cromova 18 used across the G-Series and UKON. The outer layers are Cromova 18; the inner core alloy differs to raise the hardness range to HRC 58-59 vs HRC 56-58 in the base lines. Yoshikin has not publicly disclosed the specific inner core alloy composition in the manufacturer materials reviewed as of August 2026 (LEVEL 3). The SANSO development represents Yoshikin's premium upgrade path within the same Tsubame City manufacturing base -- without adopting the forge-and-grind process associated with Seki City cutlery manufacturers.

The SAI line is available in Japan through Yoshikin's normal retail channels -- department stores, Tokyu Hands, Loft, 212 Kitchen Store, and the direct store in Roppongi, Tokyo -- per the distribution information confirmed on yoshikin.co.jp in August 2026. Japan domestic pricing for the SAI line was not confirmed during the scope of our research (LEVEL 3 as of August 2026). The Japan-to-US price comparison applicable to the G-Series (see our [Japan vs. US price guide](/knives/global-knives-japan-vs-us-price/)) was not replicated for SAI.

What That Means for U.S. Buyers

For US buyers comparing the SAI to the G-2, the core question is whether the hardness increase from HRC 56-58 to HRC 58-59 is worth roughly $50 more at US retail. The practical effect of HRC 58-59 is longer intervals between resharpening -- the edge holds longer under regular use. The tradeoff is that resharpening requires more care: a coarse stone or misaligned stroke at HRC 58-59 can chip or roll the edge more easily than at HRC 56-58.

The 7.5-inch SAI-01 blade versus the G-2's 8-inch blade is a real practical difference. Some buyers find 7.5 inches more maneuverable for smaller cutting boards or produce; others find it limiting for larger proteins or bread-prep tasks. Both sizes are available from the Global Cutlery brand store on Amazon.com, but the SAI line does not offer an 8-inch chef's knife equivalent -- the SAI-01 is the closest chef's knife in the line at 7.5 inches.

The 3-ply SANSO construction in the SAI adds a different inner core alloy to the Cromova 18 outer layers, providing additional toughness to offset the harder edge. The specific inner alloy is not disclosed in the manufacturer materials we reviewed. The 3-ply approach is the same constructional concept used by other premium Japanese knife lines (Miyabi, Shun), though those brands use different steel specifications at higher hardness levels.

Final Verdict

Recommended

Global SAI offers a meaningful step up from the G-Series in edge retention through harder steel (HRC 58-59) and a 3-ply construction, at roughly $50 more in the US market. For buyers who want longer intervals between resharpening and are comfortable with fine-grit sharpening technique, the SAI-01 is the clearest upgrade path within the Global lineup. The Bushido design narrative on the handle is a design choice, not a manufacturing heritage; the knife's actual origin is Yoshikin's tableware-fabrication tradition in Tsubame City.

Best Pick Global SAI-01 7.5-Inch Chef's Knife